EFRAÍN MARTÍNEZ was born in San Juan, Puerto Rico, his interest in music dawned on him early and at age 13 he began formal training on the drum set. His rapid development on the instrument allowed him to begin his professional career as a session drummer for many latin gospel and sacred music albums, most notably with singer René González. He continued his musical training under former Sammy Davis Jr. band and Mongo Santamaría drummer Tony Sánchez. It was during this period that his interest and development in jazz took him to New York City for a year and half to work with artists like John Benítez group, Ron Affif Trio and percussionist Papo Pepín among many others.

Upon his return to Puerto Rico he continued his studio work and live performances with many latin pop artists including a year-long international tour with latin diva Olga Tañón. His sought-after skills and musicality led him to many important collaborations with high caliber musicians such as Steve Khan, Eddie Gómez and Jerry González, placing him among the most respected drummers in Puerto Rico.

Recent collaborations include Viento de Agua, Hip Hop artist Tego Calderón, Vico C, lounge/electronica artist MIMA, recordings with new jazz artists like saxophonist Luís Rodríguez (Fresh Sound records), Holograma Quartet (M.A. Productions/Pollymood Records), Ricardo PonsCausa Común Project, Holograma Quintet, and presentations in venues like the San Juan Heineken Jazz Fest, Dominican Republic Jazz Festival, Barranquilla Jazz Fest, Curacao Jazz Fest, Faot Music Fest in Mexico, National Public Radio Philadelphia (NPR), Manhattan’s Joe’s Pub and Brooklyn Theatre et al. He also has done clinics and concerts in South America with the United States Embassy Music Education Program.


Pearl Drums
Meinl Cymbals


Efraín Martínez Bio


  • El Laberinto del Coco (2017)
  • Calma Carmona: 100 Vidas (2017)
  • Puerto Colombia Ensamble (2017)
  • André Rayo: Diferente (2016)
  • Jerry Medina: La timba dura (2014)
  • Viento de Agua: Opus IV (2013) (Grammy® nominee)
  • Holograma Quintet: Origen (2014)
  • Mima: El Pozo (2012)
  • Cultura Profética: La dulzura (2011)
  • Viento de Agua: Fruta Madura (2010)
  • Holograma Quartet (2008)
  • Cultura Profética: Mota (2006)
  • Luis Rodríguez Quartet: U-Turn (2006)
  • Mima (2005)
  • Ricardo Pons & CausaComún: Segunda Piel (2003)
  • Lissette: Live (2001)
  • René González: Nada es Imposible (1995)


  • Percussion Day at Interamerican University in San German, Puerto Rico (2015)
  • XIX International Percussion Festival at Conservatory of Music in Puerto Rico (2014)
  • XVI International Percussion Festival at Conservatory of Music in Puerto Rico (2010)
  • Republican Dominic Jazz Fest (2009)
  • United State Jazz Ambasdor education Program, Perú (2008)
  • The Jazz House, Perú (2008)
  • Tambú Drum Shop (2007)


  • Author of his first book: RAÍZ (2018)